It felt like falling – a response to ‘The Backseat of My Car (and other safe places )’ by Emma Geraghty

Derelict Pages

… And I’m walking forwards, towards the car, towards the edge, I can feel it pulling me closer, magnetised, drawing me in. I’m nervous. I don’t want to look down, but I know when I reach it, I won’t be able to help myself. Closer. Closer.

The car door opens and I get in. I sit.

I stand, feet planted firmly, on the edge, my toes are brushing air, I’m as close to the sky as I’ll ever be. I feel safe. I am steady.

When I tell you to do something, you do it.  

His voice, the voice in my head. His voice in my head. My heart in my throat. It’s actually quite high up here.

The breeze is picking up. We’re moving but not moving. A lake in a car park on the edge of a high building.

I lean in.
You lean in.
I lean…

View original post 209 more words

Leave a Reply

